Marine Discovery Centre Excursion

Last Week all students in Year 5/6 went to the Marine Discovery Centre. The students took part in many experiences including:
* Beachcombing
* Looking at animal enclosures (including sea horses and a Port Jackson shark)
* Interactive games
* A didgeridoo performance by a Kaurna Aboriginal
* A presentation by a marine biologist
* Other exhibits (eg fish measuring station)

Many students had fantastic feedback from the day. Here are some of their comments:
“We learnt about Aboriginal weapons and …the didgeridoo.” Owen
“I learnt that Port Jackson sharks don’t use their first gill to breathe.” Seb
“I learnt all the different lengths fish have to be in order to catch them.” Isaac
“I had so much fun while learning which is unexpected.” Allie
“I liked being on the beach in the morning because the tide was low and you could search through the seaweed to find things from the sea.” Gracy
“Beachcombing was the most fun. I got to find shells and chat with my friends.” Aaron

20161126-213526.jpg

20161126-213538.jpg

20161126-213550.jpg

20161126-213602.jpg

20161126-213625.jpg

2 thoughts on “Marine Discovery Centre Excursion

  1. Hey Mr.Pastro
    I really enjoyed the Marine Discovery Center. It was so exciting! Did you know that when we were on the beach,Anton was my buddy and we found everything but the shark egg😡.That was all we were looking for. Also when we got bored we were making a base for our collection of shells. After we made our base, we went looking for people to join our base from the other groups and they said yes. So we weren’t alone and they weren’t alone. Then we went back and did some games. Anthony.F and I were staying together the whole time. We did games together, looking at things together. Then on the way back we went at the back of the bus. When we were at the back of the bus Owen and I sat on the same seat which was the little one by its self. I had a great time!👍🤗

    1. Hi Dion,

      I’m glad you enjoyed yourself. You sure seemed to know a lot about fishing. I had a lot of fun too and I was really proud of all three classes and how we represented the school.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *